Updated: Jun 10/11

> Fellows of The RPSC

Press Release
RPSC Fellows elect four new members at annual convention

At the 83rd annual meeting of members of The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC) held in Dorval, Quebec May 13-15, 2011, Charles J.G. Verge, Secretary to The RPSC Fellows, announced four new philatelists had been invited to sign the Roll of Fellows of the Society.

To qualify for Fellowship status, candidates must meet at least one of the following criteria: they have actively worked for the betterment of the RPSC; they have promoted Canadian philately extensively through writing; and/or have, through a number of activities, made Canadian philately better at the international level. They must also be members of The RPSC.

The four new Fellows for 2011 are Dr. Jan J. Danielski, Toronto, Ontario; David Oberholtzer, Waterloo, Ontario; Dr. Michael Peach, Bedford, Nova Scotia; John M. Walsh, St. John’s, Newfoundland & Labrador.

Dr. J. J. Danielski has been very active in many projects for the RPSC including serving as a member of the Board of Directors since 2007, international liaison director since 2010, and a regular seminar lecturer both in Canada and at international shows. He has written and published over 110 articles on philatelic subjects in the last 50 years. He has been an international exhibitor, juror, and commissioner.

David Oberholtzer has been a director, treasurer, member of the finance committee, and member of the ethics committee. He currently holds the position of treasurer. His financial expertise has been felt in the 1990s and again recently as he has been instrumental in the RPSC taking steps to improve its finances. He actively assisted Dr. Robert Smith in the research and publication of the newly-issued catalogue Canadian Barrel Cancellations.

Dr. Michael Peach has served as a director of the RPSC, was chair of ROYAL*2004*ROYALE in Halifax and several times chaired NOVAPEX, including the successful 2010 national level show. He is a regular exhibitor for which he merited gold at various levels including the national level. He is a national level philatelic juror, and he is a frequent contributor to several philatelic publications.

John M. Walsh has been an active member of the RPSC throughout Newfoundland and Labrador. He is a regular exhibitor at North America show where he has won numerous gold medals and a large vermeil at a FIP sponsored show. His major contribution to philatelic literature has been the Newfoundland Specialized Stamp Catalogue which has seen seven editions since 1988. His contributions as a volunteer are legendary, and include organizing and scanning the journals of The RPSC, the British North America Philatelic Society, and the American Association of Philatelic Exhibitors.

Charles Verge said the new Fellows “are a credit to the hobby and will serve as wise counsel.” George Pepall, President of the RPSC, said he “appreciates the wide experience of the new Fellows because they have given much to the hobby. Their overall contribution is immense.”

Information on The RPSC can be had by e-mail at info@rpsc.org or by visiting the Society's website at www.rpsc.org, or by calling 416-979-8874, toll free 1-888-285-4143.

For more information contact:

Margaret Schulzke, FRPSC 1 888-285-4143

Home | Society | Services | Chapters and Affiliates | Shows and Exhibitions | The Canadian Philatelist | Library | Youth | Contact Us | Facebook | Land Acknowledgment Statement

Copyright 2001-23, 2024 The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada

All images and research articles found on this site are for your own personal pleasure and enjoyment only.
 Any other use, particularly for a commercial nature on other web sites or auction listings is strictly forbidden.