Updated: Dec 28/23

Press Release


The Geldert Medal may be awarded annually for the best article published in The Canadian Philatelist. The RPSC is pleased to advise that Andrew Chung FRPSC is the recipient of the 2023 Geldert Medal for his article entitled “The Floral Emblems and Coats of Arms of the Provinces and Territories Canada 1964 to 1966.“ The Canadian Philatelist, Volume 74, Number 6 (November/December). Pages 258-279. Congratulations Andrew!

The Geldert Committee of The RPSC determined that the article provides details of this important Elizabethan series of Canadian stamps with thorough coverage of production and promotional material, presentation items, first day covers, varieties and usages. Irregularities such as creases, colour varieties and postage rates were often noted and illustrated. Missing dots were indicated, posters shown and the names of helpful colleagues were shared. The whole article was bound together by a balanced use of space despite the quantity of material. This article will undoubtedly become a standard reference for this issue. The Geldert Medal will be awarded to Andrew Chung at the 2024 AGM of The RPSC. The Geldert Committee also passed along its compliments to the editor of The Canadian Philatelist, Robin Harris FRPSC for his continuing dedication and fine work to maintain the quality of the journal.

Upon hearing of the news, Andrew said, "I am surprised by the honour. My objective was to contribute an article about one of my collecting interests to The Canadian Philatelist. To the Geldert Committee, thank you very much."

The Geldert Medal was established in 1967 by Phyllis Geldert in memory of her husband Dr. George M. “Mac” Geldert, FRPSC and The RPSC President (1958-1967). A notable stampcollector herself, Mrs. Geldert was prominent in many facets of RPSC work, including a directorship from 1967 to 1978. She also served as executive director for three years. She was elected as a Fellow (FRPSC) of the Royal in1968. Mrs. Geldert died on August 23, 2000.

The members of the Geldert Committee of The RPSC are Kevin O'Reilly FRPSC, Ed Kroft FRPSC and George Pepall FRPSC

Information on The RPSC can be had by e-mail at info@rpsc.org or by visiting the Society's website at rpsc.org

Home | Society | Services | Chapters and Affiliates | Shows and Exhibitions | The Canadian Philatelist | Library | Youth | Contact Us | Facebook | Land Acknowledgment Statement

Copyright 2001-23, 2024 The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada

All images and research articles found on this site are for your own personal pleasure and enjoyment only.
 Any other use, particularly for a commercial nature on other web sites or auction listings is strictly forbidden.