Updated: Mar 9/09

Press Release
Dale Speirs garners the Geldert Medal for 2008

Rick Penko, President of the Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC) has announced that Dale Speirs of Calgary, Alberta has been awarded the Geldert Medal for 2008. The Geldert Medal is given annually for the best article or series of articles in The Canadian Philatelist, journal of the society.

Speirs was chosen the Geldert winner by the judges for a two-part article, “Secret Messages on Postcards.” The Geldert jury was impressed with Speirs work. It was cited as being “well researched and referenced, as well as “nicely illustrated.”

Dale Speirs said “I was pleased and honoured” to win the Geldert. “It was an accolade I had not thought about.” His collecting interest in secret messages on post cards “goes back several years,” so it is not surprising this philatelic journalist has compiled much quality information. Speirs writes for several journals including PHSC Journal, Postal History Journal (USA), and Topical Time.

As well as collect secret-message postcards, his interests range from round-the-world postcards, QSL cards, Katherine Stinson airmails, and topicals, such as cattle ranching (He grew up in the Eckville-Red Deer district of Alberta.), plants (He has been a professional horticulturist in Calgary for 28 years.), petroleum, palaeobiology, and Social Credit. The latter three relate to family interests.

Speirs says “I like to research the byways of postal history that little or nothing has been published on, using primary historical and peer-reviewed literature rather than rehashing older philatelic literature.” Heavily involved in the Calgary Philatelic Society, the 2008 Geldert Medalist is confident that “becoming actively involved in any kind of stamp organization multiplies the enjoyment level enormously and leads to friendships and contacts that a lone-wolf collector will never have.”

The Geldert Medal was established in 1967 by Phyllis Geldert in memory of her husband Dr. George M. “Mac” Geldert, FRPSC and RPSC president (1958-1967). A notable stamp collector herself, Mrs. Geldert was prominent in many facets of RPSC work, including a directorship from 1967 to 1978. She also served as executive director for three years. She was elected as a Fellow (FRPSC) of the Royal in1968. Mrs. Geldert died on August 23, 2000.

Rick Penko, President of The RPSC said “it is always a pleasure to congratulate the Geldert Medal winners. Their dedication, their research, and their willingness to share their work is an immense benefit to The Canadian Philatelist. Writers like Dale Speirs always pique new interests for collectors.”

The Geldert Medal selection committee consists of RPSC members Michael O. Nowlan, Chair; Cimon Morin and Kevin O’Reilly.

Information on The RPSC can be had by e-mail at info@rpsc.org or by visiting the Society's website at www.rpsc.org, or by calling 416-979-8874, toll free 1-888-285-4143.

For more information contact:

Michael O. Nowlan 506-357-2698
Margaret Schulzke 1 888-285-4143

Home | Society | Services | Chapters and Affiliates | Shows and Exhibitions | The Canadian Philatelist | Library | Youth | Contact Us | Facebook | Land Acknowledgment Statement

Copyright 2001-23, 2024 The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada

All images and research articles found on this site are for your own personal pleasure and enjoyment only.
 Any other use, particularly for a commercial nature on other web sites or auction listings is strictly forbidden.