The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada Annual Meeting of Members Saturday, May 23, 2015 10:00 am to 11:00 am Executive Board Room London Convention Centre London Ontario

The President, George Pepall, called the Annual Meeting of Members 2015 to order at 10:00 a.m.

The President asked for approval of the **Minutes of the 86th Annual Meeting of Members held May 30th, 2014 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.** Garfield Portch so moved, Jean Lafontaine seconded. Motion was passed.

Motion to name Robert Pinet as **Secretary of the Annual Meeting** was moved by Ken Magee, seconded by Jack Forbes. Motion was carried.

Rod Paige presented the Acknowledgement of Deceased Members (June 2014 to May 2015)¹ and called for a Moment of Silence

George Pepall presented the **President's Report.** Highlights included need to redefine content of *The Canadian Philatelist* and begin succession plans of Editor.

Rob Timburg replaced Rob Lunn, who sent regrets, and submitted the **Report of the Nomination Committee and Election of the New Directors.**

Board positions are elected to 2 year terms where half the Board is elected during even numbered years and the other half during odd numbered years. This is to help ensure some continuity on the Board. This year, members were elected for the term covering 2015-2017.

Eight members submitted their candidacy for the seven available positions. These members are:

- François Brisse (Beaconsfiled, QC)
- J.J. Danielski (Toronto, ON)
- Stuart Keeley (Thorold, ON)
- Robert Lunn (Nasonworth, NS)
- Marilyn Melanson (Halifax, NS)
- David Oberholtzer (Waterloo, ON)

¹ Gerald Bennett, Doug Carter, Jean-Marcel Cayouette, Beverlie Clark FRPSC, John M. Gareau, Theodor Kerzner, Frederick Lypchuck, Charles Hugh McPherson, Michael Millar FRPSC, Kenneth Rowe RDP FRPSL FRPSC, Gerald S. Schick, Fred Smallbone, Gordon L. Springate, Emily Ann Van Egmond, C.W. Young

- Rodney Paige (Thorold, ON)
- George Pepall (Kitchener, ON)

Garfield Portch assisted Robert Timburg in counting ballots.

Official notice of candidates who had agreed to stand for election to the board appeared in the March/April 2015 (VOL 66, NO 2) issue of the *Canadian Philatelist*.

David Oberholtzer presented the **Treasurer's Report & Financial Statements for 2014** and moved its acceptance. Seconded by Richard Gratton. Motion was carried.

Rob Timburg, volunteer exective manager, presented the **National Office Report** and took the time to thank Margaret Schulzke and Garfield Portch for their ongoing hard work.

The President requested that **Directors' and Officers' Reports** be presented.

JimTaylor presented the **International Liaison Committee Report**, solicited exhibits for NY2016 (to take place from May 28 – June 4, 2016) and explained that the deadline for submissions was August 15, 2015.

Garfield Portch presented the **RPSC Multimedia Report**. He called for a vote of thanks for Peter Wood, who had volunteered to transfer 38 slide presentations on various aspects of philately into jpegs, with little success. Only 8 were able to be completed clearly. Garfield also appealed to the attendees of the meeting to submit new presentations, PDF format, to the RPSC which will be shared with all _____.

Rodney Paige presented the **Convention Liaison Report** and reminded attendees that the Kitchener-Waterloo Royal 2016 will be held in the month of August. The Royal 2017 in Boucherville Quebec will revert to a May show.

Tony Shaman presented the **Canadian Philatelist Editor's Report** and thanked the Editorial Committee for its work over the past year in trying to implement recommendations put forward by the Geldert Committee to improve the quality of our journal.

Margaret Schulzke, the Executive Assistant of the Vincent G. Greene Philatelic Research Foundation, announced the introduction of eight new members into the **RPSC 50 + Club**, with the aid of Michael Madesker, the longest serving member of the Club, who became an honourary Life Member in 1965.

These eight members included:

- H. Ross Christian
- John A. (Jack) Forbes
- Wayne E. Goring

- Leonard Gruenwald
- ?
- Graham McLeave
- Robert G. Monoars

Sam Chiu read a Declaration calling for the **Ratification of all Acts** of the Annual Meeting of Members of the Royal Philatelic Society of Canada of May 22, 2015 and so moved; seconded by Jack Forbes. Motion was carried.

Under **Other Business**, Rod Paige discussed how the RPSC might initiate different strategies to gain new members. He suggested polling members on why they had joined the RPSC and wondered how many had joined to be able to take advantage of the possibility of insuring their stamp collections, a service only offered to RPSC members. He also clarified that the Society does not receive any money back from the agent for stamp insurance policies.

In response to a request from the floor, David Oberholtzer provided the following details about RPSC membership in 2014:

- 1,578 total members
- 412 Life/ Honourary members
- 1,166 dues-paying members
- 132 new members
- 38 members who had resigned or passed away
- 120 members struck for non-payment of dues

Yvon Latulippe of the **Youth Philately Committee** discussed how Quebec is leading the way in attracting new members to the hobby, through the creation of a Youth Phil Club – at <u>www.stamps777.com</u> and <u>www.timbres777.com</u> but also brochures and Stamp Collector Tool Kits.

Jean Lafontaine, RPSC Director as well as President of the Fédération québécois de philatelie (FQP), stated that the Quebec federation had increased its membership by focussing on retiring "baby boomers", aged 50 – 65, who had the time and money to invest, or reinvest, in a hobby they may have had in their youth.

Rob Timburg presented the results of balloting for the seven Director positions. **The following candidates were elected**: François Brisse (Beaconsfiled, QC); Stuart Keeley (Thorold, ON); Robert Lunn (Nasonworth, NS); Marilyn Melanson (Halifax, NS); David Oberholtzer (Waterloo, ON); Rodney Paige (Thorold, ON); and George Pepall (Kitchener, ON).

Peter Butler brought forward a **motion to destroy the ballots**; seconded by John Wilson. Motion was carried.

Michael Madesker spoke of the fact that he had received his membership to the RPSC in 1948 as a gift. 67 years later, he called on every member club to provide a gift membership to a new member. Stuart Keeley supported this notion.

Peter Butler called a **motion to adjourn** at 11:00 am.