The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada

Canada's National Stamp Club



Since 1887

La Société royale de philatélie du Canada Depuis 1887

Le club national de philatélie du Canada

PRESS RELEASE

PR14-1 - January 2014

Geldert Medal for 2013 Awarded to Ed Kroft, QC

George Pepall, President of the Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC), has announced that Ed Kroft, QC, of Vancouver, British Columbia has been awarded the Geldert Medal for 2013. The Geldert Medal is given annually for the best article or series of articles in *The Canadian Philatelist* (CP), the journal of the society.

Kroft was chosen the Geldert winner for his "Canada-Israel: Postal History and Rates: 1948-1952", which was published in the November-December issue.

When he was informed of his success, Kroft thanked Pepall and said, "I am delighted by your email and honoured to have been selected."

The Geldert jury, whose decision was unanimous, spoke highly of Kroft's work. The remarks included, "I have found the postal rate and history of much interest." Another comment said, "a nice background on the development of the Israeli postal system which is well illustrated with excellent analysis of rates and postage due." One jury member focused on the "well organized" nature of the work.

George Pepall said, "It is important to congratulate Geldert Medal winners because they are an inspiration to others and an important voice for the hobby." He said, "It is very encouraging to have Ed Kroft among our writers."

Ed Kroft has a highly successful legal mind, having



received many honours and having written over 60 articles and papers on taxation and corporate law subjects as well as numerous articles for the philatelic press "on Holy Land postal history", for which he was honoured by the Society of Israel Philatelists with the Leslie Reggel Award. For his work in law, he received the Queen's Counsel citation in 2009.

The Geldert Medal was established in 1967 by Phyllis Geldert in memory of her husband Dr. George M. "Mac" Geldert, FRPSC and RPSC president (1958-1967). Successful writers may win only once.

The Geldert Medal selection committee consists of RPSC members Michael O. Nowlan, Chair; Cimon Morin, and Kevin O'Reilly.

Information on The RPSC is available by: e-mail: < <u>info@rpsc.org</u> > telephone 1-888-285-4143, website < <u>www.rpsc.org</u> >, or RPSC National Office, P.O. 929, Station Q, Toronto, ON M4T 2P1.